University of Johannesburg Housing

By | October 20, 2023

University of Johannesburg logo

University of Johannesburg Housing

The Student Accommodation & Residence Life division is mainly responsible for the accommodation of more than 6500 students.
This is a vast division with 26 residences spread over  4 campuses at the University of Johannesburg, namely, Auckland Park Bunting Road Campus (shortened as APB campus), Auckland Park Kingsway Campus (shortened as APK campus), Doornfontein Campus (shortened as DFC Campus) and Soweto Campus (Shortened as SWC).​

See Accredited Off Campus Accommodation

The University of Johannesburg (known colloquially as ‘UJ’) is a public university located in Johannesburg, South Africa. The University of Johannesburg came into existence on 1 January 2005 as the result of a merger between the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), the Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) and the Soweto and East Rand campuses of Vista University. Prior to the merger, the Daveyton and Soweto campuses of the former Vista University had been incorporated into RAU. As a result of the merger of Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), it is common for alumni to refer to the university as RAU.

The newly emerged institution is one of the largest comprehensive contact universities in South Africa, with nine faculties having more than 90 departments and an enrollment of approximately 48,000 students, spreading over four different campuses. The university is one of the largest residential universities in the Republic of South Africa.